A word from EMS

Today I’m going to cop-out of writing a detailed post and just send you over to EMS’s blog. While she was on light duty recently (non-operating work for operators that have injuries preventing them from doing their regular work), she took some great pictures at Willow Creek and Quatama, including a call board and a train running reverse.

One of my old pics of Willow Creek – looking east in the westbound track. The signal is red because a train is in the circuit; it would otherwise be dark. This signal allows an eastbound train in the westbound tracks to cross over to the eastbound tracks.

6 responses to “A word from EMS

  1. I know this isn’t the place to ask but I was wondering if you had any pictures of streetcars running on max trackage?

  2. I thought I had read that streetcars used to run on max tracks overnight in order to use a max maintenance facility before the streetcar facility opened.
    Anyone have any more info on the streetcar yard facility expansion? I walk by it every day on the way to work, coming along at a decent pace.

    • It’s technically possible to do that since they use the same gauge tracks and same voltage overhead, but logistically it’s too much of a problem to get the streetcars over to Ruby – I’d heard that it was easier to take them off the rails and just bring them there via the road. Nowadays the only time I would think a streetcar would be on light rail tracks would be if they needed to send one into the terminus at 11th Ave due to a malfunction or whatever, but I haven’t seen that happen.

  3. I am sure you are referring to the Portland Streetcar, but I have seen the vintage trolley’s traveling along I-84 on it’s way to Ruby before. It was quite surprising!

    I have also seen a few vintage trolleys in the yard at Ruby before, too!

Leave a Reply

